top of page

Get inside my head: A glimpse into my Pre-World's preparation

I’m excited. I’m terrified. I’m ready for the 2019 RSX Windsurfing Worlds!


After being settled in Torbole, Italy for over 2 weeks, I am itching to get the racing started. Along with my eagerness comes a vicious cycle of paralyzing self-doubt and anxiety.





I know I’ve done everything in my power to perform the best that I can… but that doesn’t stop me from thinking, “will it be enough?”

Preparing for a major sporting event, like the World Championships, requires a high attention to detail on every aspect of preparation. For example, this preparation includes equipment selection, equipment repairs, nutrition, hydration, body composition, injury management, strength & conditioning, technique, tactics & strategy, recovery and mental preparation. Not to mention the logistics of the actual event such as accommodation, food, transportation, gear transport, gear storage, coaching, team dynamics, financial constraints, budgeting, sponsorship, insurance, etc.







There is a TON of work that goes on behind the scenes that most people don’t see.




Just attending the event is a huge accomplishment, as you now know how much preparation goes into it. With 1 day until the regatta starts, I am confident every detail has been attended to, but that doesn’t guarantee the event goes smoothly. As with any sport, there are a high number of uncontrollable variables that for the most part one cannot prepare for. These include unpredictable weather and wind patterns, other competitor’s actions on the racecourse (such as fouling), and malfunctioning/broken equipment.



My job as an athlete is to control the controllables, and prepare as best I can for the uncontrollables, while staying calm and adaptable during these situations.


I believe a huge aspect of my performance can be attributed to my mental preparation. If I can believe I can do something, I probably can – even if it sounds unattainable to someone else.



This past season I have made my mental training a priority – listening to positive words of affirmation before sailing and incorporating meditation and visualizations into my daily routine. I’m excited to see how my mental training is reflected in my performance over the coming week.


We have over 100 women registered for the event which is a new record of entries! I’m excited to race against countries I have never sailed with before.


The RSX World Championships are a very important event for me and several other countries as it is an Olympic Qualifier. For many, this is the last regatta to qualify a country birth in the 2020 Olympic Games. For me, after Worlds there will be one last event where 1 country birth will be given to the best North American country. To put it simply: the more North American countries that qualify at worlds, the better chance I have at obtaining a future spot.


With Olympic qualification at stake there is immense pressure, but I am certain that I have done everything in my power to qualify. Now that the preparation has been done, the hard part is over. All I need to do is focus and implement everything I have worked so hard at in my preparation.







I am more grateful than ever to have this opportunity to represent Canada at Worlds.





 


90 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page