top of page

Product Review: LiP Typhoon Watershades

Updated: Mar 8, 2020

March 2020


I recently competed in the 2020 RSX Windsurfing World Championships that took place this February in Sorrento, Australia, and got the chance to test the LiP Typhoon Watershades out.



Previous to trying LiP’s Typhoon’s, I had lots of fogging issues while wearing sunglasses and windsurfing, and as result, I was hesitant to make the switch from wearing a visor to polarized lenses on the water. After trying the Typhoon’s, I am so glad I finally found a pair of sunglasses that addresses all my needs for Olympic Windsurfing.



This article outlines what makes these watershades unique, and my personal experience using them.


The ZEISS Lenses


The Typhoon watershades are fitted with de-centered injected polycarbonate polarized lenses by ZEISS, including a hydrophobic and oleophobic coating. These lenses are KEY when doing high impact watersports, as seawater is constantly spraying your face, and will disturb your field of vision if the water is not repelled from the lens. I noticed the difference immediately – when spray hit the lenses it was repelled instantly, allowing me to see the racecourse, even in the most gnarly conditions. This hydrophobic tri-pel coating also serves as a long lasting anti-smudge mirror treatment that prevents dirt marks from appearing on the lens. The lenses have high impact resistance, scratch resistance and elimination of glare, designed especially for water and snow activities. I noticed a huge difference in glare reduction when wearing the Typhoon’s compared to using a visor. Eliminating glare improved my performance, as I was able to see the patches of wind pressure coming down the race course without straining my eyes. Although I have only owned a pair of Typhoons for one month, I suspect they will last a long time due to the high quality of the lenses.





Venting


After a couple crashes, completely throwing me under water, there was some fogging in the glasses, likely due to the temperature differences of my warm body compared to the cold ocean water. The fogging only lasted at most 3 seconds before the breeze filled the side of lenses, clearing my vision.



The Typhoon’s have a unique dual vortex venting system that has been designed to minimize the fogging. These watershades by far exceeded my expectations on clearing the fog and are still the best lenses I’ve tried on the water. The fogging was a bigger issue on land, when there was minimal breeze to fill into the lenses.



Polarization


The polarized lenses filtered out reflected sunlight that bounced off the water and into my field of view. This feature enhanced my vision, clarity, and comfort while racing as I was able to better see shifts of the wind, the course marks, and where my competitors were. The lenses offer 100% UV protection, which is important to protect my sensitive blue eyes.


Viewing angle


The Typhoon’s have an 8 base curve radius lens that provide fantastic peripheral vision. I had no problem seeing every angle needed on the racecourse.



The Frame


The Typhoon’s use a GRILAMID ® TR90 NZZ frame, providing extra strength to the frame while keeping the sunglasses light weight and flexible. The frames survived a few wipeouts during the competition, and never left my head once! The frame was so comfortable, I even forgot I was wearing the pair on the water, as the frame contoured nicely to my face without any pressure marks.


Locked in

The leash system and retainer necklace included with the typhoons is superb. I have never seen such a rigorous system before. I only used the leash (attaching the arms of the frames around the back of my neck) as my ponytail kept the glasses secure in place during wipe-outs. There was no need to put on the retainer necklace for my racing, however, I am keen to try this system when kiteboarding.



Style



I have the Gloss White/Red Rubber frame with Methane Smoke (Polarized) Lenses. I love the colour of these lenses as they match my Canadian flag when racing internationally.

The white colour also kept me cool as it did not absorb heat from the sun like some black coloured glasses can. The colours of red and white are also very vibrant, making me easier to spot on the water. Although I have never been a fan of the look of sunglasses, the Typhoon’s are a great option as they offer many different frame and lens color options.



In Summary

Pros:

 Polarized

 Hydrophobic

Oleophobic

 Scratch resistant

 Light weight, flexible and strong frame

 Great venting system

 Great peripheral vision

 100% UV protection

 Great leash and retainer system that WORKS

 3 year manufacturers warranty

 High quality


Cons:

 “Sporty” look of frame

 Price $218 – 228 USD


I would definitely recommend the Typhoon sunglasses for any water sport activity! I can’t wait to try them kiteboarding this season.


If you are interested in buying a pair, please use this link to purchase: https://www.lip-sunglasses.com/?ref=53.


Let me know if you have any other questions about LiP or the Typhoon sunglasses and I’d be happy to answer them!


408 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page